Photo Credit: Michael Patrick Key

Photo Credit: Michael Patrick Key

Aeolus first joined the New Orchestra of Washington for our 2017-2018 season as our string quartet-in-residence. In addition to serving in leadership roles in the orchestra, Aeolus taught masterclasses throughout the season, performed special chamber performances at the Carol Mabry memorial concert, the NOWFest 2018 Gala.

Praised by the Baltimore Sun for combining “smoothly meshed technique with a sense of spontaneity and discovery,” Aeolus is committed to presenting time-seasoned masterworks and new cutting-edge works to widely diverse audiences with equal freshness, dedication, and fervor. Violinists Nicholas Tavani and Rachel Shapiro, violist Caitlin Lynch, and cellist Alan Richardson formed the Aeolus Quartet in 2008 at the Cleveland Institute of Music. Since its inception, the All-American quartet has been awarded prizes at nearly every major competition in the United States and performed across the globe with showings “worth of a major-league quartet” (Scott Cantrell, Dallas Morning News).  Read more…


Residencies, Accomplishments, and Accolades 

2009- Coleman International Chamber Ensemble | First Prize 

2010 – International Chamber Music Competition | Bronze Medal 

2011- Plowman Chamber Music Competition | Grand Prize 

2011 – Chamber Music Yellow Springs Competition | Grand Prize 

2011 – Fischoff International Chamber Music Competition | Silver Medal 

2013-2015 – Graduate Resident String Quartet | The Juilliard School 

2016 – Feature in the Netflix series “The Defenders,” staring Sigourney Weaver