From the New World

watch APRIL 15, 2018 at 5PM

place National Presbyterian Church

Celebrate America with the New Orchestra of Washington! Dvořák’s string quartet, “American,” performed by NOW’s Resident String Quartet, Aeolus, opens the program. Gershwin’s iconic Porgy and Bess Fantasy gets a modern twist in Iain Farrington’s arrangement of the work for chamber orchestra. The program ends with Dvorak’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World.”

Members of the DC Concert Orchestra Society will perform a preconcert recital starting at 4pm. Tickets to the 5pm performance are required. More information…

 This program is sponsored by the Sachiko Kuno Foundation


  • ANOTONÍN DVOŘÁK String Quartet No. 12, Op. 96 “American”
    • I. Allegro ma non troppo
    • II. Lento
    • III. Molto vivace
    • IV. Finale: vivace ma non troppo
  • Aeolus String Quartet
  • GEROGE GERSHWIN Porgy and Bess Fantasy arr. Iain Farrington
    • Introduction – Jasbo Brown’s Blues – Summertime –Fight: Fugue – Bess you is my woman – I ain’t got no shame – It ain’t necessarily so – Storm – There’s a boat that’s leavin’ soon for New York – Oh Lawd, I’m on my way
  • ANOTONÍN DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 9 “From the New World” arr. Iain Farrington
    • I. Allegro – Adagio molto
    • II. Largo
    • III. Scherzo: molto vivace
    • IV. Allegro con fuoco

Buy Tickets

Adults: $30 | Youths (12-18) & Students: $15 | Children: Free

Online sales close 24 hours prior to concert start time. Tickets will be available at the venue box office.

Please direct any box office questions to Robert Schroyer: 240.745.6587


The National Presbyterian Church

4101 Nebraska Ave NW, Washington, DC 20016