Washington Here and Now: The New Orchestra of Washington Celebrates its Fifth Season!

Washington Here and Now

Akemi Takayama, violin

watch Friday, September 16 at 8PM

watch Saturday, September 17 at 7PM

place Live! at 10th and G

place Westmoreland UCC

NOW’s season opens with two pieces that had their premieres in Washington, D.C . — Igor Stravinsky’s Dumbarton Oaks, commissioned by the Robert Woods Bliss and Mildred Barnes Bliss Estate for their thirtieth wedding anniversary, and Aaron Copland’s iconic Appalachian Spring, which received its premiere in 1944 at the Library of Congress and was co-commissioned by the Martha Graham and Coolidge Foundations. The program also includes Lalo’s brilliant Symphonie Espagnole, featuring original NOW member and acclaimed DC violinist Akemi Takayama.


  • IGOR STRAVINSKY Dumbarton Oaks
  • EDOUARD LALO Symphonie Espagnole, Op 21
  • Akemi Takayama, soloist
  • AARON COPLAND Appalachian Spring

Join us for a pre-concert talk one hour before the concert and stay for a wine reception with the artists!

Buy Tickets

Adult $40 | Student/Youth (12-18) $15 | Children free


Live! at 10th and G

945 G St NW, Washington, DC 20001

Westomoreland UCC

1 Westmoreland Cir NW, Bethesda, MD 20816